Beauty

They say that 

“beauty is in the eye of the beholder”,

a phrase that was 

always tossed around 

loosely hung on lips 

something spoken 

to crying girls 

when they were told 

their eyes were crooked, 

a phrase that never 

held any true meaning

but to those who needed

a soft kick in the butt

to remind them that they

were being stupid for crying

until today,

when the phrase slapped me

in the face,

biting reality sinking cold

in to my skin

absorbing the truth

behind such a phrase

the meaning always being

wasted on what others wanted

to hear,

“beauty is in the eye of the beholder”

my beauty-

your beauty-

in the eyes of a beholder,

if only someone would hold

me in their eyes long enough

to behold what beauty I have, 

hidden deep within the

punctures and cracks of my heart,

“beauty is in the eye of the beholder”-

hold me in your eye

so that I may

be beautiful  

 

 

Leave a Reply

